And…we’re back!

What a great week!  (Can I go again? Please??) 🙂

Where to start?  I only have one kid back so far, so we’ll start with him!

Colin was so excited about camp – we’d been talking about it since the Open House in April.  For those who didn’t see my previous post, the camp I’m talking about is Charis Hills.  We arrived and were sent to check in Colin’s meds as he was swept away for a mini-physical and picture-taking.  While in line, we got to speak to a couple of other parents – their kids had been campers there before.  They raved about how much fun their kids had and how much they loved this camp and everyone involved. It was really nice to have people set our minds at ease right away!

In the medication line, I couldn’t help but notice the bags other kids had.  Our doctor had told us that Colin wasn’t on as many meds as we might think, and maybe he was right. Some of these kids had enough to fill a gallon sized Ziploc bag.  Colin’s four medications didn’t seem like much in comparison!

We double-checked his activities – apparently he and one little girl named Emily were the only ones signed up for dance!  I tried to sign him up for activities that didn’t involve sitting quietly or shooting anything (boating, fishing, archery and riflery were OUT!).  When we turned around, he was already on his way to his cabin! 

In the cabin, we helped him make his bed – top bunk! – and then it was time to change into his swim clothes for a swim evaluation.  He was pretty much pushing us out the door.  I think he must have said “Bye, Dad!” at least three times before we left!

One of my favorite things about this camp is that they have their own shutterfly account and they post pics daily!  That was really nice – we’d check out the site each night and see what he’d been up to.   Here are a few:

in class – they had study time!

Testing out the water

Swim lessons! Colin earned an award for putting his head under water before the week was over!

I found it pretty funny when we picked him up that one of the first things his designated counselor mentioned was how early he would wake up.  Apparently the kids were supposed to sleep until 7:30am – yeah right!!

 Otherwise, they said he did pretty well.  They sent home a little evaluation sheet that discussed how he did at meeting the goals we’d asked them to help him work on (assessing dangerous situations, developing a less inflated sense of self, etc).  They essentially said what we knew – that he doesn’t think before acting and will apologize after the fact, so he knows wrong from right, he just doesn’t have the impulse control to stop himself.  He got in trouble mid-week for touching/taking other people’s things, but he gave them back immediately without argument, so that’s good. All in all, he had a blast.  He can’t wait to go back again next year!  We will probably hear about “sleep away camp” (as he calls it) for months to come. — As this blog has gotten fairly long-winded already, I think I’ll save my yabbering and pictures on our kidless vacation for another post!  I need more pictures from the camera anyhow.  It’ll be like one of those old slide-shows your grandparents made you watch as a kid!  (I know, you can’t wait, right??)

3 responses to “And…we’re back!

  1. Glad he had such a good time! If I could do my childhood over, going to at least one sleep away camp would have been awesome.

    • I went to several – I think it’s a great thing for a kid to experience! Once our other two get a little older, I’ll find one for them. I don’t think the younger two could handle being away from family for more than a day or so. I want to say my first camp was 5th grade/10 years old or so.

  2. So glad he enjoyed it, and that it seemed to be a good match programatically… What a great opportunity for Colin to have a place that is “his”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

